The Beauty of Simplicity – My First Days in New School

 This July, I joined Sampoerna Academy L’Avenue, a new school launched in 2015. Moving to a totally new and different school has inspired me to learn the beauty of simplicity.We might be young school but I learn the true value of being ‘YOUNG’, ‘SMALL’, ‘NEW’, and ‘SIMPLE’ here.  These are some precious memories of my simple first days in Sampoerna Academy.

Smaller. Simpler. Super.

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens [teachers & students] can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.” – Margaret Mead 

Yes! I have smaller group of teachers now. They’re my colleague in my secondary department. Even tough we are smaller, we have simpler way of thinking to make super powerful learning experiences in class.  Each of us has unique potential and talents which make every individual personality exciting. I totally learn a lot of cool stuff that change my perspectives of learning and teaching.

PD Days : Learn, Unlearn, & Relearn Party

One of my favorite moments in my first days of school is definitely the PD session. I called it Simple Party since the PD is very flexible, interactive, practical, and relevant. PD session here offers unique learning experiences that enable me to know people, learn new strategies, and challenge my traditional norm. We did awesome stuff together such as Google training, learning culture, reading time, active learning approach, STEAM based learning, catering special needs, etc.

One Orientation Day #SASchoolTour2016

It’s time to welcome back our students to school ! Together with current students, we had around 60 students kicking of this academic year. Our  Student Orientation is pretty simple. One Day with Million Funs.  We did fun stuff such as rules introduction session,  spaghetti tower challenge, and interactive school tour game. Then, we had photo challenges on instagram #SASchoolTour2016

More Teaching, Less Teching

“Anyone who stops learning is old, whether at twenty or eighty. Anyone who keeps learning stays young. The greatest thing in life is to keep your mind young.” Henry Ford

Teaching must be the busiest job on earth but the most exciting journey as you will always feel younger every time you meet them.It’s great to be back teaching Grade 7 & 8 students Social Studies this year! I miss teaching this subject to these young kiddos. Additionally, I also teach Grade 7-11 Entrepreneurship which also challenge me to relearn my students passion and ideas.

One of the coolest part of teaching here is that I have so much freedom to design instructions, strategies, approaches, and assessments to create meaningful learning experiences. For example, in Social Studies, we discussed criminal act of defiance, took personality test,  brainstormed passion and ideas, etc.

Here are some of simple ideas that I modelled to my students. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tiny Tools. BIG FUN.

Technology might be a merely tool for learning It should NOT be our primary learning objectives. Yet, here are several simple technology tools  that give powerful touch for   meaningful learning experiences.

Unity in Diversity : Celebrating IndONEsia Indepdence Day

This is how celebrated simple independence day on August 18th 2016:

Designing traditional culinary & nationalism quote, Playing fun games, Exhibiting traditional culinary , and Reflecting our nationalism with meaningful reflection.The best part of it is TOGETHERNESS. We did it as FAMILY.

Check out our unity in diversity here on Instagram using this hashtag : #INDOpendenceDay2016

In the end, this new school has taught me the beauty of simplicity in small things that God has entrusted us to take care. We might be small numbers of students and teachers.  We might be very young in this super sophisticated education world. Yet, as time goes by, I discover the value of simplicity in creating meaningful learning experience.

I hope this school stay ‘SIMPLE’.

“Simplicity is the ultimate form of Sophistication.”

Leonardo Da Vinci.

Less is More.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lea says:

    Semangaaattt Steven, good luck…(^.^)/

  2. Jumal Ahmad says:

    Bagus sekali sekolahnya, simple dan proaktif

Leave a Reply

