‘Unbelievably emotional’ days as I say Good Bye to Dian Harapan School

It’s hard to believe that my time in Dian Harapan School is over. The final days have been an emotional time for all students and me. It is  really sad because I’ve spent all this time watching them grow up and I am very invested in their growth.

I was thinking how to end my class and say goodbye to high school students in an extra special way. Then, I decided to make something simple and memorable by reflecting and sharing good memories with them as they prepare to embark on their next chapter.

This is what I am saying in my final class:

IMG_6533

Being a Leader

“I am leaving this school and this is my last time speaking to you in this class. I know this is difficult but I want to deeply say thank you for every single one of you who have inspired me and you know what? You’ve grown up so much to be a leader as John Quincy Adams’s saying :

Leader is someone whose actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more. Thank you so much for inspiring me to dream more, learn more, do more, and become more. I have the best memory with all of you. You’ve grown to be leader!”

Then one of my student in a class said, “The Leader is not us. It’s YOU who inspire us, sir.” I couldn’t hold my tears after hearing that.

LeaderQuote

My Journey of Passion

Then, I shared my  journey of living out my passion as educator in Dian Harapan school. I started teaching Social Studies at Dian Harapan in 2011 and my interest in technology integration in social studies subject become greater and greater. I started writing a blog in 2012 and a community of educator called  Google Educator Group West Jakarta in 2014.  Instead of sharing successful stories, I showed series of failure and rejection that I faced in growing my passion.  Yet, I told them one of the most important message of Ghandi:

8279d128e8609e8e5fd5da1050a75f00

Then, I shared the video of most memorable commencement speech about failure :

9 Best Quotes from The Most Memorable Commencement Speech

Surprisingly, many students shared similar stories of how people ignore, laughs, and fight their passion and ideas.  At that moment, I was touched and inspired by everyone’s story.  Then, I said to them, “I am extremely inspired of your passion and ideas!”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Digital Time Capsule

I have special digital gift for each one of you. It’s digital time capsule in Google Slide. You can open all of your passion and ideas slide that we made during this semester. “

Inspired by TED Ed curriculum, I challenged my students to think and reflect their passion and ideas during the whole semester. In below link, you can find how I taught entrepreneurship by enabling my students collaboratively design their passion and ideas. I told them this will be our time capsule and in 10 years from now,  I want each one of you become MORE than what we designed together.

10s1 : gg.gg/10s1steven

10s2 : gg.gg/10s2steven

10s3 : gg.gg/10s3steven

10s4 : gg.gg/10s4steven

11s1 : gg.gg/11s1steven

11s2 : gg.gg/11s2steven

11s3 : gg.gg/11s3steven

Timeless Memories

IMG_6532

I thought in my final class, I would be the one who inspired my students. PARTLY WRONG. Instead, my students are the one who inspired me with their testimonial about my class.

I think I’d be strong enough, but again I was totally WRONG. I could not hold my tears again when I saw my students telling their stories with many breaking into tears as their emotional voices soared.  “I was sad. I felt like my heart was in a million pieces,” I said. “I’ve got a lot of memories here.”

Everyone of them shared beautiful and timeless memory that totally changed my life.  Here’s the most beautiful message from my students:

Students Farewell Message

Grade 10S2

Screen Shot 2016-06-15 at 8.15.10 PM

Get my favourite scrapbook from 10s2 here : gg.gg/10s2gift

Grade 10S3  

Grade 10S4 

*Ms Grace is my homeroom teacher partner in 10s4, you will also find her name in this slide as this is beautifully made for final homeroom meet-up. Thanks to Ms. Grace for being the most inspiring partner. This is miss Grace at our final day –>

13411869_986992888037028_1038720963603183342_o (1)

Grade 11 Social

Screen Shot 2016-06-16 at 5.12.46 PM

Entre 11s1

Made by Fernaldi 11s1

WE LOVE YOU MR. STEVEN AND MS. GRACE

Made by Reza 10s4

X-5

**** Surprising Birthday video from my precious students, I miss you already ;-( ( 28/6)


What I Learned

In the end,  I thought I would be the one who teach my students. Again, I am partly WRONG.  My students were the one who taught me the most important lesson of being a teacher:

“People might forget what you said and did but they will never forget how you made them feel.” Maya Angelou .

Good Bye Teachers !

After ending the emotional good bye to my students this weeks, it’s time to say good bye to teachers in Dian Harapan Daan Mogot.  All I can say is  THANK YOU so much for being great partners !!! All of them have taught me the most important life lesson about being a teacher, colleague, and lifelong learner.   They have become more than just friends, brothers, sisters who inspired me about collaboration, humility, respect, responsibility, communication, and creativity.  

The Farewell is so emotional this year but I believe we can still stay in touch ! You all will be missed…Looking forward to meet you in the future !

Ultimately, thank you GOD for sending me to Dian Harapan Daan Mogot !! I am beyond blessed to be in this school for five years. How Great is our God!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Lea says:

    ikutan haruu… terus Semangat dan selamat Steve, terus menginspirasi…. ❤
    Hijrah kemana Steve?…

  2. Hi Lea. Thanks a lot. Mulai tahun depan saya pindah ke Sampoerna Academy Pancoran Jakarta

  3. Jumal Ahmad says:

    Sukses Pak Steven…saya suka baca baca tulisan pengalaman anda mendidik dg teknologi…very inspiring..

Leave a Reply

