5 Love Language for Homeroom Teacher

Becoming High School homeroom teacher requires a special language of love that will keep your spirit and energy as young as your students. Here’s 5 love language that have crafted my favorite moments as teacher!

1. Love is Communication

Since the beginning, I still remember how I welcome my students with ‘iPhone welcome card’.
welcome

Through this welcome card, I want to challenge them to honor the most important part of being family: Communication.  Teaching High School students is very special since you need to know them as well as their world. Without healthy communication, I fully realize we can’t really teach our young generation. I always challenge them to be dare to communicate everything they feel and experience. As a result, we passed this amazing year with several emotional moments that make us know each other.  We grow to be a person who see things from different perspectives as we open our mind with discussion, debate, and sharing.

2.  Love is ORIGINAL

Often, teachers love showing off their best wisdom and strength. But, it’s never enough if you don’t show who you are as genuine person who have lots of weakness. I am terrible at sport especially volley & basket-ball and I don’t want to hide this from my students. I realize everyone will laugh at me in doing such sport but I want to show them I want to overcome my weakness and bring out the best of me. I also still remember how I learned from my students to design slide presentation that attract people better.No doubt, your students will get eternal lesson from your weakness! 

3. Love is ENGAGING

Love is tested when you experience challenges and hardship. Challenge your students to take the risks and be ready to lose and you,  WITH YOU.  There are so many competition we have in our school and we have LOSE many of them but we LEARNED from it. We evaluated what WE can do TOGETHER to win it all. Then, we used our limitation to complete each other to make something brilliant that has never been before. I still clearly remember the moment we win  Fashion Show , Sport, and Games competition that make us stronger as community.

4. Love is EMPATHY

Celebrating togetherness means you laugh with someone who laugh, you cry with someone who cry. We have fun when someone’s have fun in their bday, we are troubled when someone in our class troubled. I still remember there are many times we discuss certain problems, surprise celebration, and topics that make our class experience the real empathy of being someone else in our class.

5. Love is GIVING 

You can give something without love, but you can’t love without giving. It doesn’t talk only about physical stuff/material things. But anything such as TIME, appreciation, praise, apology, critics, and surprises that can make person know you better. I thank God for these 21 amazing students who have given me a lot of surprises that that impossible to forget.  Below is special present from my students that will be an eternal memory that represent who I am as their homeroom teacher.

All I can say, when you use langua ge of love that show true communication, originality, engagement, empathy, and gift, be ready to experience the awesomeness with your students! 

Leave a Reply

