Geography Valentine’s Poem

valentine

 

Valentine’s Day is a special day to remind everyone of us the importance of love. In my school, Valentine’s Day is celebrated with chocolate everywhere. In my Geography Class, we celebrate Valentine by making special Valentine poem with Geography vocabulary. I think this would be very effective for students to learn difficult words of Geography by exploring the meaning of its words in composing loving poem. I asked my students to make poem with LOVE theme using 15 words from LITOSPHERE & PEDOSPHERE (ROCKS & SOIL) chapter.

Amazingly, each one of my students  created very unique, creative, and touching poem with very deep words. I am totally touched by the way they share they love with geographical words. I think the poem combine science and love very beautifully and I love’em a lot. Most of them created the poem in Bahasa Indonesia. Some of them created the poem in English, and here are some of their loving poem…:

 

LOVE

I am a raging Volcano

Magma flows through my vein

Making the earth trembles as I walk

Breathing Volcanic Ashes as I talk

That what I was before

The useless stone

then you come along

like an erosion you changed me

 

The pain I encumber

as heavy as granite

yet you easily lift it

You fold me into your arm

I am saved

from what once a useless stone

is now a source to gem stone

I know that one day

I’ll change into a soil

but I can make sure

with you, we can be volcanic soil

We can plant on it, make a terassering or contour system

The erosion want break us

we make our new start

our love will shine forever

like a diamond

 

 

Grasp

What is this sensation

It feels like I am volcanic

My chest feels seismic

My legs tremble as a tectonic

When I look at you

My heart went orogenesis

It beats anticlinely and synclinely

I can’t stop this beating, it came from my hyposentrum

Oh how pretty you are!

Your elegance was like pneumatolic

Such a precious gemstone

It’ll be a shame for me to let you go

Without you by my side

I feel sendimentatic

I am ruined into dust

like a stalactite.

My feelings towards you, it ‘s like a bedrock

can’t break so easily, won’t break that easy

so please don’t leave me here like a sandy soil

I need your reforestation

to make me as a stronger soil

Stay with me

forever and ever

be my terrasering

guard and guide me

 

What do you think?

For me, it is s uch   beautiful and deep poems! Many more poem are created this valentine  and you can see it here

https://edutechpost.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/puisi-cinta-ala-geografi-untuk-guru-part-2/

 

or

 

if you want to see my poem (in Bahasa)  to my students using geography vocab, you can open this link:

https://edutechpost.wordpress.com/2013/02/13/katakan-cinta-dengan-puisi-geografi/

 

or you can contact me to see more unpublished poem in my classroom. Just tweet me @StevenSutantro!

 

Million thanks to all my students who made all  loving poem!

Happy Valentine’s Day Dearest my Students!

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on Halim Priyatna Blog's and commented:
    it’s cool

Leave a Reply

